Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Fripperies V8 (29-32) (Score & Parts)-4BSN

Composer: Shaw, Lowell E.

Publisher: Hornists Nest

Edition: HN63A


Fripperies V8 (29-32)
for four bassoons (or trombones)
by Lowell E. Shaw (b. 1930)- American composer and hornist
1. Frippery #29- Slow Tango
2. Frippery #30- Lazy Blues
3. Frippery #31- Medium
4. Frippery #32- Moving along

The idea behind the writing of the Fripperies has been to give the quartet the chance to swing a bit as a self-contained unit, that is, without an added rhythm section. Thus, the rhythmic motion is built into the parts, and the clarity and continuity of this rhythmic drive will determine the effectiveness of the performance. While the resulting product of all of this obviously should sound rather light-hearted and tongue-in-cheek, the approach which will best achieve this will be a careful one, with attention to details and sensitivity to what is happening with the quartet.