Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonatas & Pieces from "Der getreue Musikmeister"-OB/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Telemann, Georg Philipp

Publisher: Hortus Musicus (Germany)

Edition: 61512


Sonatas & Pieces from "Der getreue Musikmeister"
for oboe (or flute, or violin) and piano (basso continuo)
by Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)- German Baroque composer
Sonata in a minor TWV 41:a3
I. Siciliana
II. Spirituoso
III. Andante
IV. Vivace
Sonata in g minor TWV 41:g5
I. Grave
II. Alla breve
III. Adagio
IV. Vivace
L'hiver (Winter) TWV 41:d1
Air Trompette TWV 41:C1
Niaise TWV 41:E2
Napolitana TWV 41:B4

Edited by Johannes Dietz Degen. The "lessons" published every two weeks in Telemann's musical periodical, Der Getreue Musikmeisters" (The Faithful Music Master) are the first known examples of musical pieces in installments. Telemann thus satisfied the needs of the music-loving public by constantly offering new pieces for different instrumental combinations for domestic music making. This book of sonatas and other short pieces gives us a good idea of the variety that Telemann was aiming for in his "Musikmeister". Next to a sonata expressly conceived for oboe, there are pieces that can be played on various melody instruments as well. 

This edition comes with a fully realized keyboard part, a solo part for oboe (or flute, or violin) and a separate basso part, playable on any bass clef instrument such as cello or bassoon.