Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet, op. 22, #1 - FL/OB/VLN/CEL/PN

Composer: Bach, J.C.

Publisher: Hortus Musicus (Germany)

Edition: 42


Quintet, op. 22, #1
for flute, oboe, violin, cello, and piano
by Johann Christian Bach (1735-1782) - German composer, eighteenth child of Johann Sebastian Bach, and the youngest of his eleven sons, also known as the "London Bach"
I. Allegro
II. Andantino
III. Allegro assai

Edited by Rolf Ermeler. One of the most charming works by the "London Bach" is the present chamber music quintet. This quintet is probably one of the first compositions of its time to use an obligato harpsichord in chamber music with larger instrumentation. The inclusion of two wind instruments and two strings lends a particular color to the composition. Each instrument is given ample opportunity for prominence in solo passages.