Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sinfonia Concertante - OB/BSN/VLN/CEL/PN

Composer: Haydn, Franz Joseph

Publisher: Henle

Edition: 61424


Sinfonia Concertante in Bb Major, Hob.I:105
for oboe, bassoon, violin, cello, and piano
by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro con spirito

“Sometimes the symphonies ... are destined to showcase the musicians' talents” – this is how a music dictionary of the time thus commented on a new genre, the “Symphonie concertante.” The playful competition between the solo instruments proved very popular with the audience and sparked rivalry between the concert organizers in the music metropolis London: Ignaz Pleyel received a great deal of praise for one such “concertante” and only four weeks later Haydn achieved great fame for Hob. I:105. This attractive work is now published in piano reduction so that it can be played without orchestral accompaniment. Edited by Sonja Gerlach, piano reduction by Siegfried Petrenz.