Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sextet (2012)-WW5/PN

Composer: Hecker, Zeke

Publisher: Trillenium Music Company (Don Stewart)

Edition: 1610


Sextet (2012)
for woodwind quintet and piano
by Zeke Hecker (b. 1947)- American composer
I. Allegro vivace
II. Barcarolle
III. Tango
IV. Meditation
V. Tarantella
The Sextet for piano and winds is a light-hearted piece, rather in the nature of a suite with several dance-like movements. The winds and piano toss material back and forth in conversation or competition. The most distinctive feature of the work is that its material is derived entirely from the first phrase, a four-note figure Bb, G, Eb, F. That figure in its original form is the theme of movements I, II, and V. In movement III, the phrase is reversed; in movement IV the pitches are shuffled but the phrase retains its predictable shape. The composer ruefully admits that this device was an exercise not in skill, but stinginess; he needed to surrender only one tune out of his dwindling stock.