As we mourn the passing of Eric Varner, owner of TrevCo Varner Music, we want to assure everyone that the business will continue and all orders will be processed and sent out as usual. Emails and phone calls will be returned as quickly as possible.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger


Composer: Hartley, Walter S.

Publisher: Prairie Dawg Press (Bruce Gbur)

Edition: 122


Sonatina for bassoon and piano

by Walter S. Hartley (b. 1927)

I. Allegro moderato
II. Andante
III. Allegretto


Hartley composed the Sonatina for bassoon and piano in 2001. Cast in three movements, the work explores the technical and lyrical aspects of the bassoon but also utilizes the instrument's extreme upper range. This makes the Sonatina accessible to players who have not yet ventured into that area. The final movement utilizes a great deal of canonical writing between the soloist and both hands of the piano. Edited by Bruce Gbur.