Click image above to zoom

Suite for Wind Quntet (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Harberg, Amanda

Publisher: Presser

Edition: 71087


for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Amanda Harberg (b.1973) - American composer and pianist
1. Cantus
2. Furlana
3. Fantasia
4. Cabaletta


Amanda Harberg’s Suite for Wind Quintet was commissioned by the Dorian Wind Quintet in 2017. The piece was the result of a conversation in a bar between Harberg, Dorian’s flutist Gretchen Pusch and Pusch’s husband Richard Bayles, on the occasion of Dorian’s clarinetist Ben Fingland’s 40th birthday party. A year and a half later, the Dorian Wind Quintet gave the world premiere of Harberg’s quintet at Bargemusic, and has incorporated it into their repertoire ever since. Suite for Wind Quintet is in four movements- 1. Cantus, 2. Furlana, 3. Fantasia and 4. Cabaletta. The melodic material heard in the very opening of the piece can be heard recurring and transforming throughout the four movements, until it unites triumphantly in the final coda with the theme of the concluding movement. The piece was inspired by the concept of placing Renaissance and Baroque-inspired dance suites into Harberg’s idiom as a 21st century composer.