Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Concerto in g minor HWV 287 (Urtext)-OB/PN or FL/PN

Composer: Handel, Georg Friedrich

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 57993


Concerto in g minor HWV287
for flute (oboe) and piano
by Georg Friedrich Handel (1685-1759)- German Baroque composer
I. Grave
II. Allegro
III. Largo moderato e cantabile
IV. Allegro
Edited by Terence Best. Piano reduction by Andreas Kohs.

The Concerto for Flute and Orchestra in G minor, HWV 287 is a first edition.
Although published in the Handel Complete Edition, IV/12 for oboe in 1971, the work has for many years been considered spurious because no contemporary source existed. This concerto was thought to have been written by an amateur musician who borrowed material from Handel's works written or published after 1733. The situation changed drastically when a contemporary set of parts for the concerto, originally copied in Stuttgart for the Erbprinz Friedrich Ludwig von Württemberg, were found in 1993. These parts, copied about 1720, show that the composer borrowed from this concerto for compositions such as the Organ Concerto HWV 296a, the Concerto Grosso op. 6 No.11, HWV 329 as well as the Trio Sonata in G minor, HWV 390. The parts were titled Concerto à 5 for 1 Flauto Traverso et Hautbois , 2 Violino , 1 Alto Viola con Basso continuo. This new critical edition by Terence Best is the first to make use of this new source. The score contains a lengthy preface and critical commentary.

- First ever publication making use of the new source material
- Informative preface describing the origin and genesis of the work
- A major new work for flute and oboe players