Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Norwegian Suite-OB/PN

Composer: Grieg, Edvard

Publisher: Spartan Press (Scotland)

Edition: SP828


Norwegian Suite
for oboe and piano
by Edvard Hagerup Grieg (1843-1907)- Norwegian composer and pianist
1. Andante
2. Allegretto
3. Con moto
4. Andantino
5. Tempo di minuetto
6. Andante sostenuto
7. Moderato ritmico
8. Mesto
9. Moderato
10. Andante
Two cruises around the Norwegian Fjords, on which I played and lectured, were the foundation of this work. A I explored Grieg's piano music, I became increasingly fascinated by the freshness of his melodies (well suited to the oboe) and the imaginative use of chromatic harmonies in the accompaniments. Of the ten items in this suite, six are from his collections of Norwegian Folk Songs, the others are from his Lyric Pieces.
Arranged by Bryan Kelly.