Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in C Major-FL/OB/VLN/PN (Basso Continuo)

Composer: Finger, Gottfried

Publisher: Edition Walhall (Germany)

Edition: EW1049


Sonata in C Major
for recorder (or flute), oboe, violin, and piano (basso continuo)
by Gottfried Finger (1660-1730)- Moravian Baroque composer and viol virtuoso
I. Adagio
II. Largo
III. Allegro
IV. Largo
V. Allegro
VI. Largo
VII. Adagio
VIII. Allegro
IX. Largo

Edited by with a keyboard realization by Klaus Hofmann. This edition comes with solo parts for recorder (flute), oboe, violin, a fully realized keyboard part, as well as a separate basso part, playable by any bass clef instrument such as cello or bassoon.

Reconstruction after a manuscript copy for 3 violins in B-flat Major in the Düben Collection in Uppsala. The editor explains in the preface why the work cannot have been written for 3 violins, and why a transposition to C Major suggests a different instrumental scoring. Klaus Hofmann was Executive Director of the Johann Sebastian Bach Institut in Göttingen.