Click image above to zoom

Trio Sonata in F, op. 2, #5 - 2FL/BSN/PN (basso continuo)

Composer: Flitz, Anton

Publisher: Schott (Germany)

Edition: 31134


Trio Sonata in F, op. 2, #5
for two flutes (or oboes) bassoon, and piano (basso continuo)
by Anton Flitz (1733-1760)


A cellist in the Mannheim court orchestra, Anton Filtz (1733-1760) wrote two well-known flute concertos and numerous chamber music works apart from 40 symphonies. Schubart wrote about him in his 'Ästhetik der Tonkunst' (1784): 'Filtz is one of the older composers of the Mannheim orchestra; his spirit and his works have made him immortal long since'.

The Trio Sonata in F major is the fifth of the 'Six Sonatas' published in London around 1775, a brilliant, early classical work full of beautiful musical ideas.

Suited for music teaching, the 'Jugend musiziert' competition, and concert performances.