Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Two Insect Pieces - OB/PN

Composer: Britten, Benjamin

Publisher: Faber (England)

Edition: 11630


Two Insect Pieces
for oboe and piano
by Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) - British composer, conductor, and pianist
I. The Grasshopper
II. The Wasp
 Written in the Spring of 1935 for oboist Sylvia Spencer, who had played in early performances of Britten's Phantasy Quartet Op 2. Britten and Spencer played through The Grasshopper and The Wasp in April 1935, but the first public performance did not take place until March 7th, 1979, when they were performed by Janet Craxton and Margot Wright as part of a memorial concert for Sylvia Spencer at the Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester. 
Duration: 5:00