Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata #2 - OB/PN

Composer: Douglas, Bill

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1527 - 67472


Sonata #2 
for oboe and piano
by Bill Douglas (b. 1944) - Canadian-born composer, pianist, and bassoonist 
I. Cantabile
II. The Sadness of the Moon
III. Capriccio
The first and third movements of this work follow the basic jazz form: a unison theme followed by a written-out improvisation on the chords of the theme, and then a return to the theme with variations. In the third movement, there is a middle section based on a minor blues progression.