Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Divertimento #6 in G Major (score & parts) - 2OB/2BSN/2HN

Composer: Haydn, Franz Joseph

Publisher: Doblinger (Austria)

Edition: 59933


Divertimento (Parthia) #6 in G Major
for two oboe, two bassoons, and two horns
by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Menuet & Trio
III. Andante
IV. Menuet & Trio
V. Presto

Edited by HC Robbins Landon, this work bears the catalog designation Hoboken II:3. 

Haydn, before and during his period as Kappelmeister to Count Morzin, must have written many divertimenti for various combinations of instruments: some have survived in autograph, but most exist only in contemporary manuscript copies. After leaving the services of Count Morzin, Haydn was engaged as Vice Kappelmeister to Prince Esterhazy; from this year, he concentrated his efforts more on the symphony, and relatively few divertimenti or cassationi date from the Esterhazy years.