Wishing you great reeds for the holidays!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Encounters (score & parts) - VLN/BSN

Composer: Wolfgang, Gernot

Publisher: Doblinger (Austria)

Edition: 60032


for violin and bassoon
by Gernot Wolfgang (b. 1957) - Austrian composer
1. Riding the Tiger
2. The Abstract Truth
3. Three is a Charm
Encounters for violin and bassoon was composed in 2009. It is the fourth and final piece in a series of duos featuring the bassoon together with a string instrument of the orchestra. The other three pieces are Three Short Stories (viola and bassoon), Common Ground (cello and bassoon) and Low Agenda (bassoon and double bass). The composition is in three movements. The outer movements are based on energetic, often funky grooves and feature special instrumental effects, such as slides and chopping on the violin- performance techniques borrowed from bluegrass-style fiddle playing- and multiphonics on the bassoon. The quiet inner movement provides balance in the form of unaccompanied lyrical solo passages.