Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Cassation (Divertimento) in G Major (score only) - 2OB/2HN/STGS

Composer: Haydn, Franz Joseph

Publisher: Doblinger (Austria)

Edition: 59932


Cassation (Divertimento) in G major (score only)
for two oboes, two horns, two violins, two violas, cello, and bass
by Franz Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro molto
II. Menuet & Trio
III. Adagio
IV. Menuet & Trio
V. Finale-Presto

Edited by HC Robbins Landon, this work has the catalog designation Hoboken II:G1. This title is the score only. 

Haydn, before and during his period as Kappelmeister to Count Morzin, must have written many divertimenti for various combinations of instruments: some have survived in autograph, but most exist only in contemporary manuscript copies. After leaving the services of Count Morzin, Haydn was engaged as Vice Kappelmeister to Prince Esterhazy; from this year, he concentrated his efforts more on the symphony, and relatively few divertimenti or cassationi date from the Esterhazy years. This work was first publicly announced in the Breitkopf catalog of 1769, where it figures as #2 of "IX Cassation di Gius. Haydn". it must have been composed, however, several years before that date, possibly as early as 1759 or 1760.