Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Divertimento in C Major (Parts Only)-OB/VLA/CEL

Composer: Haydn, Michael

Publisher: Doblinger (Austria)

Edition: 59939


Divertimento in C Major
for oboe, viola, and violone (cello) (a violone is not a violin, but a basso instrument in C)
by Johann Michael Haydn (1737-1806)- Austrian composer, younger brother of Franz Joseph Haydn

I. Allegro (molto)
II. Menuet & Trio
III. Aria. Adagio
IV. Menuetto & Trio
V. Andante- Theme & Variations
VI. Presto
Edited by Werner Rainer, this title is parts only. To order the study score, please click HERE. 
The Divertimento for oboe (or flute), viola, and basso P98 should be preserved in Manuscript parts in the library of the Mozarteum in Salzburg, according to Perger, whose catalog, incidentally, does not mention the last movement (Presto) of the present work. The Mozarteum library, however, has only an incomplete, poorly written score of recent date. The editor is indebted to Dr. W Haske of Salzburg for drawing attention to a set of manuscript parts at Lambach Abbey; in that set of parts the oboe is given to the flute, quite in accordance with the practice of the outgoing 18th century. A comparison with the Mozarteum score showed that the oboe and flute parts are identical except for octave transpositions in the last movement. This present first edition of the work work is based exclusively on the extremely accurate, contemporaneous Lambach parts and not on the Mozarteum score.