Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Septet in Eb Major Op 62 (Score & Parts)-CL/HN/BSN/4STG

Composer: Kreutzer, Conradin

Publisher: Doblinger (Austria)

Edition: DM188/STP219


Septet in Eb Major Op 62
for clarinet, horn, bassoon, violin, viola, cello, and contrabass
by Conradin Kreutzer (1780-1849)- German composer and conductor
I. Adagio- Allegro
II. Adagio
III. Menuetto & Trio
IV. Andante
V. Scherzo
Vi. Finale

Edited by Viktor Redtenbacher. This title comes with a complete set of parts and one study score. 

Three great works of chamber music for strings and winds had, for more than a century, a decisive influence on the composition of similar pieces; the Beethoven Septet, the Schubert Octet, and the Spohr Nonet. Thus it is understandable that this "Grand Septuor" by Konradin Kreutzer has a certain formal resemblance to Beethoven's Opus 20. In addition the work shows romantic traits a la Weber and Lortzing and in the Finale, one is aware of an ebullience almost worthy of a Rossini opera. All in all, it is a likeable piece. 

The source for the present edition was an old set of printed parts by the Viennese publisher Pennaur, from the library of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna. Pennaur's printing, in turn, is obviously based on the original performance material, which was dedicated to Schuppanzigh, that string quartet leader who is remembered for his interpretation of Beethoven's quartets. Schuppanzigh's septet colleagues seem to have been quite superficial in marking their parts, and the carelessness of the copyist made a further negative contribution. 

For the new edition, then, many errors had to be expunged, contradictions had to be resolved, and dynamic markings had to be unified. An "arrangement" was studiously avoided. 

Duration: 28:00