Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Kasselberg Suite-BSN(CBSN)/PN

Composer: Mullikin, David

Publisher: David Mullikin

Edition: 59808


Kasselberg Suite for bassoon (and contrabassoon) and piano

by David Mullikin (b. 1950)

I. Sinfonia alla Brandenburg
II. Arioso
III. Gavottes
IV. Recitative and Duet
IVa. Bridge to Chaconne
V. Chaconne
Please note that this piece is written for both bassoon and contrabassoon, with the contra playing 2 of the 5 movements. Originally for Bassoon/Contrabassoon and String Orchestra, this set includes the solo part and a piano reduction by the composer.
For bassoon, contrabassoon and string orchestra. 5 movements, 15 minutes. The soloist alternates instruments by movement, beginning and ending with bassoon. Commissioned by James Rodgers, contrabassoonist of the Pittsburgh Symphony, and premiered at the convention of the International Double Reed Society. This enthusiastically neo-classical suite evokes the flavor of the German high baroque period (first movement: “Sinfonia Alla Brandenberg”).