Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Little Concerto For Six Players (score & parts) - FL/OB(EH)/CL/BSN/VLN/PN

Composer: Maslanka, David

Publisher: David Maslanka

Edition: 59802


Little Concerto for Six Players (1990)
for flute, oboe (doubles English horn), clarinet, bassoon, violin and piano
by David Maslanka (b. 1943) - American composer
I. Moderately fast
II. Moderate
III. Fast

This music was written for talented amateurs in attendance at a summer music conference. The Concerto is very much in a Neoclassic mode. The fast outer movements are whimsical and tongue-in-cheek. The slow middle movement unfolds soulful melodies. The musical influences are fairly clear; the first movement owes a debt to Stravinsky, the second to Poulenc, and the third to Brahms, with an overlay of the composer's Polish heritage. 

Each movement features two of the six musicians. Written in 1990 for the Chamber Music Conference of the East at Bennington, VT.

Duration: 8:00