Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Gigue K574 (Score & Parts)-5BSN/CBSN

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Daniel Davis (composer)

Edition: DPD002


Gigue K574
for five bassoons and contrabassoon
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)- Austrian composer

Arranged by Daniel Paul Davis. This work was originally for solo piano, and is itself a reinterpretation of the Gigue in Handel's Eighth Suite in f minor. It is a short binary piece in a rapid compound meter, like a racing frolic of notes rapidly passed in succession from one instrument to another at breakneck speed. In the second half of the piece, Mozart reveals his adventurous spirit sounding 10 of the 12 chromatic pitches in two measures and looks forward with a wink and a nod to the harmonic wanderings of the late Romantics and the second Viennese School. 

Honoring Mozart's 250th Birth Year, for the Bosque Bassoon Band of Albuquerque, New Mexico.