Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Rivers (Score & Parts)-5BSN/CBSN

Composer: Davis, Daniel

Publisher: Daniel Davis (composer)

Edition: DPD003


Rivers (2006)
for five bassoons and contrabassoon
by Daniel Paul Davis-American composer

I. Flowing
II. Moving
III. Adagio cantabile
IV. Presto

The four movements are played without pause between movements. From the composer:

For a significant part of my life I have lived near a river, and in my mind, rivers exist as a symbol of eternity. There are three rivers of particular importance to me: the Columbia, the Wenatchee, and the Rio Grande. While composing this piece, I could not stop thinking about these rivers, full of streaming melodies, interwoven in currents of imitation, flowing, ever-changing, like dreams, like, time, moving slowly of rather quickly, sometimes turbulent or calm with undercurrents bubbling up changing the surface as it ebbs and flows along a stream of creative thought. 

Composed for the Bosque Bassoon Band of Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Duration: 7:00