Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Lauda Sion Salvatorum-SOPRANO/OB/PN

Composer: Czerny, Carl

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1717


Lauda Sion Salvatorem
for soprano, oboe, and piano
by Carl Czerny (1791-1857)- Austrian composer, teacher, and pianist of Czech origin

Edited by Sandro & Fulvio Caldini. Originally for soprano, oboe concertante, and orchestra, this piano reduction is by Fulvio Caldini. 

The name of Carl Czerny is fairly well-known worldwide as a famous piano teacher (among his pupils were Franz Liszt) and he had a huge output of didactical piano works. Nevertheless, he wrote many chamber works and sacred compositions involving a voice, one or more concertante instruments, and orchestra. These sacred works present an opportunity for future research as few are familiar with this repertoire, which was common between the end of the 18th century and the first half of the nineteenth century under the name of composizioni alla lombarda (Lombard style compositions). Carl Czerny wrote many using a voice with various instruments such as flute, cello, violin, or oboe. The text of these kind of works was usually sacred verses coming from the Bible or from the standard church service. 

Such is the case with the present Lauda Sion Salvatorem, an offertorium for soprano, oboe concertante, and orchestra, written in 1843, and preserved at the National Library in Vienna. A few harmonic mistakes have been corrected (and not notated), but the work is otherwise left as written by the composer. 

The original version for soprano, oboe, and orchestra is also available: