Check out our "Female Composers" & "Composers of Color" collections, located under "catalog", "browse", "special collections"

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Lauda Sion Salvatorem (Score & Set)-SOPRANO/OB/ORCH

Composer: Czerny, Carl

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 1718


Lauda Sion Salvatorem
for soprano, oboe, and orchestra
by Carl Czerny (1791-1857)- Austrian composer, teacher, and pianist of Czech origin


Edited by Sandro & Fulvio Caldini

The name of Carl Czerny is fairly well-known worldwide as a famous piano teacher (among his pupils were Franz Liszt) and he had a huge output of didactical piano works. Nevertheless, he wrote many chamber works and sacred compositions involving a voice, one or more concertante instruments, and orchestra. These sacred works present an opportunity for future research as few are familiar with this repertoire, which was common between the end of the 18th century and the first half of the nineteenth century under the name of composizioni alla lombarda (Lombard style compositions). Carl Czerny wrote many using a voice with various instruments such as flute, cello, violin, or oboe. The text of these kind of works was usually sacred verses coming from the Bible or from the standard church service. 

Such is the case with the present Lauda Sion Salvatorem, an offertorium for soprano, oboe concertante, and orchestra, written in 1843, and preserved at the National Library in Vienna. A few harmonic mistakes have been corrected (and not notated), but the work is otherwise left as written by the composer. 

This title includes:

  • one full score
  • one soprano solo part
  • one oboe concertante part
  • one harmonie set (flute, oboe II, two bassoons, two horns in Eb)
  • one set of string parts (3-3-2-3(0)

This piece is also available as a piano reduction: