Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Ragtime Progression Quintet (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Cramer, Trevor

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 71699


Ragtime Progression Quintet
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon

by Trevor Cramer - American composer, arranger, bassoonist, and entrepenuer 


The title of this quintet comes from a standard five chord progression often referred to as the “Ragtime Progression”. This progression (beginning with the tonic) can be found at the end of movement one: (I) - III7 – VI7 – II7 – V7 – I and versions of it will be found throughout the quintet.

The first movement is basically an 8-measure cadenza for each instrument of the quintet, marked with the Italian a piacere meaning “at your leisure.” The cadenzas are written out, highlighting some of the characteristics of the individual instruments. The musicians may perform as written or are encouraged to reasonably embellish to show off their special strengths as a performer.

The next three movements are written as fun trifles, allowing each performer to shine at any specific moment. The all-pervasive “ragtime progression” will reappear throughout.

When I first decided to write this quintet, I originally thought of it as a piece that could be used to introduce young people to the instruments of the quintet, hence the specific design of the first movement. Although it would work well in that situation, I hope the performers will find it to be a fun, entertaining, and brief piece for children “of all ages” as it finds its way onto the recital and concert stage.


Trevor Cramer was born in Watford, England and moved to the United States in 1952. He has lived in Florida since 1960 and holds dual citizenship, becoming a citizen of the United States in 1978. 

He received a degree in Humanities from the University of South Florida, Tampa in 1967 and from 1968-1970 he served as bassoonist with the First Army Band, New York City. Trevor was a member of the bassoon section of the Florida West Coast Symphony in Sarasota, Florida from 1965-1998 

He was the Administrative Director of the Sarasota Music Festival for 15 years and General Manager of the Florida West Coast Symphony for 19 years. In 1999, he was the proud recipient of the Sarasota County Arts Council “Arts Leadership Award” for Management Leadership. He served on the board of directors of the IDRS (International Double Reed Society) as business liaison from 2012-2021.

He established TrevCo Music and TrevCo Music Publishing in the early 1980s with the intent of serving the double reed community with a reliable and comprehensive source for printed music. Now retired, he continues to edit many new TrevCo publications.


Trevor is the GGGGrandson of Wilhelm Cramer, violinist with the original Mannheim orchestra (Germany) and later of notoriety in the London music scene. His sons, Franz and Jean Baptist were also musicians and composers of moderate importance. Jean Baptist, Trevor’s GGGGUncle founded the publishing company of J. B. Cramer, which remains in existence today. It is documented that as publisher it was J. B. Cramer who appended the name “Emperor” to the English publication of Beethoven’s 5th Piano Concerto.