Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Concerti, RV 468 & RV 482 for Bassoon (score only) - BSN/STGS

Composer: Vivaldi, Antonio

Publisher: Ricordi (Italy)

Edition: 70985


Concerto for Bassoon, RV 468 and RV 482 (score only)
by Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741) - Italian composer and violin virtuoso


The critical edition of these concertos that have come down in incomplete form adds the last piece to the immense mosaic of Vivaldi's music for bassoon; his 39 solo concertos plus a huge number of concertante parts scattered among works in different genres indeed constitute a unique contribution for his period.

The critical introduction takes the opportunity to sum up the state of knowledge about this subject, tracing the history of this instrument in Italy from the seventeenth century up to Vivaldi, and identifying possible performers and commissioners of his works written for it. A surprising picture emerges: at the very time when the bassoon had reached the nadir of its fortunes, Vivaldi entrusted to this instrument an extraordinary number of works making extreme technical demands, clear evidence that there was a virtuoso in Venice capable of playing them.

The two concertos RV 468 and RV 482, sadly lacking some of their movements, are nevertheless perfectly playable and enjoyable pieces that testify to the generous assistance given by Vivaldi to the maturation of this instrument.