We are at the Glickman-Popkin Bassoon Camp until 6/7. All orders will be filled after that date.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto in C Major, K314 (score & parts) - OB/BAND

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: TrevCo

Edition: 71459


Concerto in C Major, K314
for oboe and wind ensemble
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Adagio non troppo
III. Allegretto
Tastefully and sensitively transcribed for oboe and wind ensemble by Trevor Cramer
This set includes:
  • one solo oboe part
  • one full score
  • set of wind ensemble parts:
    • two flutes
    • two oboes
    • clarinet 1
    • clarinet 2
    • clarinet 3
    • bass clarinet
    • alto saxophone
    • tenor saxophone 
    • two bassoons
    • contrabassoon (optional)
    • two horns in C (original) and F (transposed)


In transcribing the Mozart Concerto for Oboe from the original orchestration there is always the issue of balance and sensitivity to the timbre and tessitura of the solo oboe. All too often, some of the similar reed timbres in a band can relegate the sound of the oboe to the background. The arranger's intent was to make an accompaniment that would allow the oboe to stand out, while at the same time using a majority of the instruments found in the modern wind ensemble. In doing so the accompaniment during the solo oboe passages is purposely light and should be performed with sensitivity, grace, and eloquence by the musicians. Additionally, the tutti sections that utilize the full ensemble should retain the classical balance and refinement of the period in which Mozart wrote this concerto. A full band fortissimo is never appropriate in this edition. 

In transcribing the orchestra for wind ensemble, the arranger made the decision to retain the orchestra's oboe and horn parts as written by Mozart. For the oboe, there is no issue. However, as was the norm in Mozart's time, the horn parts were written for performance on a horn in the key of the concerto's movements. Hence the original horn parts in C have also been retained. An alternate part for Horns in F has been provided with the set. 

A solo oboe part is provided with corresponding rehearsal marks and measure numbers. However, the oboist may wish to use his or her own edition, which is, of course, perfectly all right. Similarly, cadenzas should be performed at the will of the soloist.