Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Bombur's Dream-OB/PN

Composer: Joyce, Brian

Publisher: Cimarron Music Press

Edition: 1849


Bombur's Dream
for oboe and piano
by Brian Joyce- American composer
I. Moderato: I was having such beautiful dreams!"
II. Lament: He heard that there was nothing to eat
III. Cortege: King Under the Mountain

For those who may need to brush up on their dwarf-lore, Bombur was one of the 13 dwarves featured in Tolkien's "The Hobbit." Along with title character, Bilbo Baggins, and Gandalf the wizard, Bombur and the other dwarves set out on a long and dangerous quest to recover a vast treasure which had been stolen by the dragon, Smaug. Along the way, Bombur stumbled into an enchanted river and promptly fell into a deep sleep from which he could not be awakened for several days. This meant that his friends had to carry him along with all their gear. It should be noted that Bombur had what we might call a keen appreciation for fine cuisine; because of his resulting avoirdupois, he was not an easy burden to bear. 

Eventually Bombur awoke, but, according to Tolkien, when he learned that there was nothing to eat, he sat down on the ground and wept. "Why did I ever wake up?" he cried. "I was having the most beautiful dreams!"

The first movement of this piece has to do with Bombur's lovely dreams and the second with his sorrow upon awakening. The third movement, "King Under the Mountain" is a cortege for the dwarves officious leader, Thorin Oakenshield. Bombur's Dream is dedicated to the composer's wife, the oboist Susan Joyce.