Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Neo Trio (Score & Parts)-OB/ASAX/PN

Composer: Bowyer, Don

Publisher: Cimarron Music Press

Edition: 1753


Neo Trio
for oboe, alto saxophone, and piano
by Don Bowyer (b. 1958)- American composer
I. quarter= 52
II. quarter=120
III. quarter= 144
IV. quarter= 72

This work is a four-movement contemporary work, accessible, and fun. The first movement is based on a five-note scale that includes the notes of a half diminished chord plus the major second. Harmonic motion is created by transposing the scale up by minor thirds every measure, then every two beats, and finally every beat. 

The second movement is based on a symmetrical six-note scale that includes three half steps: B,C, Eb, F, G, Ab. The scale remains the same throughout the movement, without modulation. Augmented harmonies are created by building chords from every other note of the scale.

the third movement uses the same six-note scale throughout: Db, E, F, F#, A, C. Harmonic motion is very limited in this movement.