Click image above to zoom

Impromptu #2 (study score) - FL/OB/CL [POP]

Composer: Musgrave, Thea

Publisher: Chester

Edition: 59333


Impromptu #2
for flute, oboe, and clarinet
by Thea Musgrave (b. 1928) - Scottish composer

Impromptu No. 2 for Flute, Oboe and Clarinet was commissioned by the Department of Music, University College, Cardiff, in association with the Welsh Arts Council. It was written in the summer of 1970 in Santa Barbara where the composer had been visiting professor in the University of California. 

As implied by the title, the work is light-hearted and brilliant and it has been notated in such a way that it can be played with considerable rhythmic freedom. Sandwiched between the opening section and the closely related coda where all three instruments are more or less equally balanced, comes Andante espressivo led by the flute, Drammatico led by the clarinet, and finally Leggiero & Fantastico where the oboe predominates.

Duration: 9:00

This edition is a manuscript facsimile, perfectly legible, but hand-written. This title is score only. To order the part set, please click HERE

8/1/2022 - This score is now out of print, and we have sold our last copy.