Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger


Composer: Berkeley, Lennox

Publisher: Chester

Edition: 1619


for oboe and piano
by Lennox Berkeley (1903-1989)- British composer
I. Molto moderato
II. Andante
III. Allegro
The Sonatina was composed in 1962. The first movement is classically structured, with a gracefully contoured first subject, a forceful ensuing idea, and a murmurously lyrical second subject. The second movement generates an intensity of feeling which is the greater for the very restraint of its language. The finale effectively introduces clam moments to offset the prevailing syncopated ebullience.