Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Ponderings - OB/PN

Composer: Chaffin, Lon

Publisher: Potenza Music

Edition: 65641



for oboe and piano

by Lon W Chaffin

I. Solitude - Reflection and Balance
II. Mystery - Contrast and Tension
III. Illumination - Depth and Focus
IV. Dialogue - Color and Texture

This set portrays a personal transformation, from solitude and questioning to discovery and interactions. It was inspired by paintings created by a friend and Texas artist, Cathie Tyler, as well as from the writings of Henry David Thoreau in his book, Walden.

The title of each movement depicts a phase of the journey- Solitude, Mystery, Illumination, and Dialogue. The subtitles address artistic aspects of each painting as well as allude to personal transformation.

-Lon W Chaffin