Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Metamorphoses - SOLO BSN

Composer: Bassett, Leslie

Publisher: C F Peters

Edition: 59094


for unaccompanied bassoon
by Leslie Bassett (1923-2016) - American composer
Each of the eight Metamorphoses emerges and unfolds from a brief source, a fragment drawn from the orchestral bassoon literature. Tempos, pitches and rhythms may be substantially changed from the original, yet the sources remain clearly recognizable, giving rise to the new music which follows; homages rather than quotations. 
The sources are:
I. Stravinsky-Rite of Spring
II. Prokofiev- Peter & the Wolf
III. Tchaikovsky- Symphony #4
IV. Beethoven- Symphony #3
V. Beethoven- Symphony #1
VI. Beethoven- Symphony #8
VII. Scriabin- Poem of Ecstasy
VIII. Chabrier- Epana
Metamophoses was commissioned by friends, colleagues, and students of L. Hugh Cooper, Professor of Music (bassoon) at the University of Michigan, on the occasion of his retirement and in appreciation of this many contributions to performance, teaching, and research. The premiere performance was by Gwendolyn (Wendy) Rose at the University of Michigan on February 12, 1991, with immediate subsequent performances by Richard Beene. 
Some fingerings and performance suggestions supplied by Mr. Cooper, Mr. Beene, and Ms. Rose are to be found in the work's index. 
Duration: 15:00