Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet #2 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Maslanka, David

Publisher: Carl Fischer

Edition: 59064


Quintet #2
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by David Maslanka (1943-2017) - American composer
I. Deliberate
II. ca. 96
III. ca. 96

Written in 1986 for the Manhattan Wind Quintet, this dynamic piece in three movements encompasses several moods that range from aggressiveness to placidity and etherealness. A technically demanding piece, the first movement is filled with exciting short phrases that come together in a fugal section. The second movement is both peaceful and emotional, with a profound sense of mystery. Finally, the third movement, a chaconne, features a continuous set of variations over a brief repeated harmonic pattern. The movement ends with a chorale-like coda that summarizes the entire piece.
Duration: 20:00