Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Quintet #1 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Maslanka, David

Publisher: Carl Fischer

Edition: 59063


Quintet #1
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon
by David Maslanka (1943-2017) - American composer
I. ca=104
II. ca= 60
III. Sempre molto legato
This quintet for flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon, that is at times fierce and demanding, reflects the composer’s contemplation of the city and country. In the first movement, the composer introduces the audience to his fascination with the call of the black-capped chickadee, which he reflects in a motif throughout the movement. He then moves to city life, where the sounds of the famous New York City A train are captured in this movement. Finally, the third movement is a tribute to the Brooklyn Bridge where he uses the musical letters in the name “Brooklyn Bridge” (BDGE) to derive the thematic material of the movement. An original and fun work!
Duration: 20:00