Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Three Trifles (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Carlton, Marvin

Publisher: Imagine Music

Edition: CMS167


Three Trifles
for woodwind quintet
by Marvin Carlton- American composer
I. Tango
II. Pastorale
III. Badinage
From the composer:
One definition of "Trifle" is a work of light or trivial character, a bagatelle. Three Trifles for Woodwind Quintet are three bagatelles that are meant to be fun for the listener as well as the players.
The first movement is a "Tango". It should be played seductively and expressively throughout.
The second movement is a "Pastorale". It is quiet in nature and features instruments in different combinations in duet and trio form until the final tutti ending.
The third movement is a "Badinage". Badinage means playful or humorous. As a student in college, I was a member of a woodwind quintet called "Badinage". This group was certainly playful, and each of us had our own sense of was one of the best quintet experiences I've ever had. This movement is in several sections that reflect playfulness, humor and reflection.
"Three Trifles for Woodwind Quintet" was premiered by the Heart of Illinois Woodwind Quintet in February 2012. I hope players and listeners enjoy these trifles.