Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Antiques & Curios (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Carpenter, Gary

Publisher: Camden (England)

Edition: CM106


Antiques & Curios (1993)
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Gary Carpenter (b. 1951)- British composer
1. Vivace
2. Grazioso- Allegro marziale
3. andante- Un poco piu mosso
4. Variation 1, Animosamente
5. Theme, Larghetto
6. Variations 2 & 3, Presto- Meno mosso- Giocoso
7. Variations 4, 5, & 6 Lento- Sensuously- Scherzano
Antiques and Curios begins as a suite but ends up as a set of double variations on themes fully encountered in the fifth movement. There are seven movements in total, each (excepting the fifth) being a social dance, or rather, a somewhat grotesque and grimacing version thereof.