ATTENTION: Orders placed between Saturday 11/16 and Tuesday 11/19 will not be fulfill until Wednesday 11/20th. We apologize for the inconvenience. As we mourn the passing of Eric Varner, owner of TrevCo Varner Music, we want to assure everyone that the business will continue and all orders will be processed and sent out as usual. Emails and phone calls will be returned as quickly as possible.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Fables from Aesop-VLN/BSN

Composer: Buss, Howard

Publisher: Brixton Publications

Edition: B372


Fables from Aesop
for violin and trombone (or bassoon)
by Hoard J. Buss (b. 1951)- American composer
I. The Dog Who Chased a Lion
II. The Astronomer
III. The Camel Who Wanted Horns
IV. The Crow and the Pitcher
V. The Rabbits and the Frogs

Each of the five movements begin with a performer reciting the corresponding fable. One player may read all of the fables, or the players may alternate. If desired, a third person may be engaged as narrators. The narration should be done in a colorful and entertaining manner. The texts have been adapted by the composer and, as with all of Aesop's fables, there is a "moral to the story". The moral lessons have been left out of these renditions. It is hoped that each audience member will formulate his or her own aphorism as the suggestive music is being performed. 

Duration: 13:00