Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Skylines (score & parts) - WW6

Composer: Buss, Howard

Publisher: Brixton Publications

Edition: 70372


for flute, oboe, EH, clarinet, bass clarinet & bassoon
w/alternate bassoon part as a substitute for bass clarinet

by Howard J. Buss (b. 1951)- American composer


Skylines was originally composed for English horn and piano by Howard J. Buss in the Fall of 2002.  This version for woodwind sextet was commissioned in 2019 by Victoria Ward in memory of David Marshall.  It is scored for flute, oboe, English horn, clarinet, bass clarinet and bassoon.  (An additional bassoon part is provided as a substitute for part 5, the bass clarinet.  Cast in two movements,  Skylines is a picturesque musical urban portrait.  No specific city is depicted; rather, the composer captures, in a broad manner, the essence of the big city spectacle.  The lyrical and majestic first movement, Panorama, suggests the expensive grandeur of cityscape.  The second, Amid the Spires, is hugely influenced by jazz and captures the dynamic energy of life on the busy streets 


I. Panorama - 5'40"
II. Amid the Spires - 4'47"

Total Duration: app. 10'30"