Click image above to zoom

Three Romances, op. 22 - VLN/PN or OB/PN

Composer: Schumann, Clara

Publisher: Breitkopf und Haertel (Germany)

Edition: 58901


Three Romances, op. 22
for violin (or oboe) and piano
by Clara Schumann (1819-1896) - German pianist and composer, wife of Robert Schumann
I. Andante molto
II. Allegretto
III. Leidenschaftlich schnell

These are the Clara Schumann Three Romances (NOT Robert) and are written for violin and piano, although often adapted for oboe and piano. 

"You can be rightfully pleased with what is coming!" announced Clara Schumann self-confidently in late 1855 to the 24-year-old Joachim upon sending him a copy of the Three Romances, op 22 for violin and piano that had just been published by Breitkopf & Härtel. There is no doubt that her acquaintance with the young virtuoso had stimulated her to write the pieces already back in 1853. The two remained linked to the Romances after publication as well: Clara Schumann and Joachim often successfully performed them in their concerts in later years.

After having temporarily fallen into obscurity, the Romances did not make their way more lastingly into the chamber music repertoire until 1983, when a reprint of the first edition was published. With the release of this new edition, today's interpreters may be once again rightfully pleased with Clara Schumann's Opus 22.

Duration: 10:00