Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Sonata in Bb Major, K292 - BSN/CEL or 2BSN

Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus

Publisher: Breitkopf und Haertel (Germany)

Edition: 58891


Sonata in Bb major, K292
for bassoon and cello
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) - Austrian composer
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Rondo- Allegro

The Sonata in Bb Major for bassoon and cello was likely written in Munich towards the beginning of 1775 for the amateur bassoonist baron Thaddaus von Durnitz, for whom Mozart is said to have composed, besides the Bassoon Concerto in Bb Major, other works for bassoon and orchestra. The unusual scoring of this sonata can only be ascertained on the basis of the extant printed editions; the autograph of this work has been lost. There is reason to doubt that the lower voice was originally written for cello. The voice leading recalls at various points an unfigured continuo bass, similar to that in Mozart's two early sonatas for violin and bass. It is also possible that a second bassoon had been foreseen as an accompanying instrument. 
Notwithstanding Mozart's Sonata in Bb Major is  a gratifying work for two cellos, or four cello and double bass, and has found wide acceptance in these combinations as well as in its original scoring. 

This edition comes as one performance score. There are no individual parts.