Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Adagio for Musical Clock in F Major WoO33 #1 (score & parts) - WW9

Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van

Publisher: Breitkopf und Haertel (Germany)

Edition: 58855


Adagio for Musical Clock in F Major WoO33 #1
for flute, two oboes, two clarinets, two horns, and two bassoons
by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) - German composer

Arranged by Willy Hess. Towards the end of the 18th and the beginning of the 19th century, Count Joseph Deym's "Art and Wax-Figure Cabinet" enjoyed great popularity. Mozart had written some very charming pieces for the count's mechanical organ, or musical clock, of which the autograph of his Fantasia KV608 was found in Beethoven's estate. That Beethoven also wrote similar works was due not only to the knowledge of this Mozart composition, but also to his direct personal contacts with the Deym-Brunswik circle: in 1799 he produced an elaborate Adagio in F major, a Scherzo and an Allegro in G Major for Deym's musical clock. The manuscript found its way via the Grasnick Collection into the Royal Library in Berlin, now the Deutsche Staatsbibliothek.