Click image above to zoom

Orion Concerto (score & parts) - OB/BSN/ORCH

Composer: Brandon, Jenni

Publisher: Jenni Brandon

Edition: 71541


Orion Concerto
for oboe, bassoon and orchestra
by Jenni Brandon (b. 1977) - American composer

Solo Oboe
Solo Bassoon
2 Flutes
2 Oboes
3 Clarinets in B-flat
Bass Clarinet
2 Bassoons
2 Alto Saxophones
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone
3 Trumpets in B-flat
4 Horns in F
2 Trombones
Percussion I: Glockenspiel, Gong, Anvil, Shaker
Percussion II: Suspended Cymbal, Bass Drum, Marimba, Crash Cymbal
Percussion III: Triangle, Snare Drum, Djembe

This piece tells the story of our Galaxy, of the great unknown and what lies beyond, and where we belong within this vastness of space.  The soloists and the ensemble paint a picture of this great mystery of the universe, taking us on a journey through the Spiral Galaxy and the Milky Way.  Being pulled toward the Supermassive Black hole, the djembe lends a rhythmic background of mystery to this journey.  We then travel to the place where stars are born in “The Orion Nebula,” quoting Carl Sagen from his book Cosmos that, “we are made of star-stuff.”  Finally, we begin to leave the orion nebula to continue our journey again through the spiral galaxy, exploring the vastness of space as thematic material returns to carry us on this ever-continuing journey of exploration.

Originally premiered as Double Concerto for Oboe and Bassoon with Wind Symphony, the Orion Concerto is a shortened version of this work.  It was arranged at the request of Jonathan Hinkle, Director of Bands at Colorado Mesa University in Grand Junction, Colorado for performance during the Colorado Music Educators Association conference in January 2023. The original version Double Concerto was written for Scott Pool – bassoon, and it was an honor to have him and Rogene Russell on oboe premiere it at the University of Texas at Arlington Wind Symphony under the direction of Doug Stotter in February 2013.  The European premiere of this work was given by the Banda Simfònica Municipal de Madrid under the direction of Rafael Sanz–Espert with Víctor M. Ánchel, oboe and Enrique Abargues, bassoon.

This work is in one movement with several sections:

The Spiral Galaxy
Travelling through the Milky Way
Supermassive Black Hole: Falling into the abyss…
The Orion Nebula: “We are made of star-stuff.”
…Flying through the Spiral Galaxy

Duration approximately 8:15

-Jenni Brandon