Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Four Miniatures (Score & Parts)-VLA/WW5

Composer: Plog, Anthony

Publisher: BIM (Switzerland)

Edition: VA8


Four Miniatures (1983)
for viola and woodwind quintet
by Anthony Plog (b. 1947)- American conductor, composer, and trumpet player
I. Pastoral
II. Toccata
III. Chorale
IV. Allegro

4 Miniatures was written in the mid-1980s for James Dunham and the Westwood WQ5. In this pieces, the viola is treated as a solo instrument and contrasted against the colors and textures of the WQ5. The piece begins with a lyrical Pastoral, followed by a lively Toccata, which makes use of different mixed meters. The third movement intersperses a solo viola line with several woodwind chorales, and this leads directly to the final movement, whose coda displays the virtuosic capacity of the viola soloist.

Duration: 10:00