Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Concerto for Bassoon (full score) - BSN/ORCH

Composer: Panufnik, Andrzej

Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes

Edition: 58350


Concerto for Bassoon and Small Orchestra
for bassoon and orchestra
by Andrzej Panufnik (1914-1991) - Polish composer and conductor
I. Prologo
II. Recitativo I
III. Recitativo II
IV. Aria
V. Epilogo

This title is a facsimile reproduction of the composer's autograph manuscript. Parts are available on a rental-only basis from Boosey & Hawkes. The piano reduction of this work is available HERE

Composer's Note
Just as I was starting to compose this work, there came the horrific news from my native Poland about the torture and murder of the Catholic priest, Father Jerzy Popieluszko. I was deeply shaken, and immediately decided to dedicate my Concerto to the memory of this Polish martyr of faith and fatherland. 
The Concerto is scored for small string orchestra plus flute and two clarinets. There are five contrasting movements, played without break. These operatic-sounding names are intended  partly to emphasize the underlying drama of the work, and partly to indicate the parlando character of the recitatives, but especially to point to the singing quality of the bassoon in the Aria
-Andrzek Panufnik

Duration: 20:00