Celebrating 40 years! 1983-2023

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Portraits of the Odyssey (score & parts) - DBL WW5 (with EH/BCL/PICC/ALTO FL & Percussion-see more information)

Composer: Berk, Stacey J.

Publisher: Cocobolo Music Press (Stacey Berk)

Edition: 59002


Portraits of the Odyssey
for double woodwind quintet: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, 2 horns and 2 bassoons
by Stacy J. Berk (b. 1970) - American composer
I. Cyclops
II. Circe's Cottage
III. Halls of Hades
IV. Sirens
V. Scylla & Charybdis
VI. Calypso
VII. Ithaca

This piece requires extensive doubling on auxiliary instruments, as well as the use of percussion by almost all ensemble players. The full instrumentation includes:

1. Flute 1/Piccolo/Alto Flute
2. Flute 2/Triangle
3. Oboe 1/Woodblock with soft mallets
4. Oboe 2/English Horn
5. Clarinet 1 (B-flat)/Bamboo Wood Chimes
6. Clarinet 2 (B-flat)/Bass Clarinet
7. Bassoon 1/Finger Cymbals
8. Bassoon 2/Egg shaker
9. Horn 1/Bell Tree
10. Horn 2/Suspended Cymbal with stick