TrevCo-Varner Music will be closed from June 26th through July 5th, and again from July 13th through July 20th for the IDRS Conference in Tampa, FL. All orders received during these times will be processed in the order received as soon as we open again. Thank you for your patience. We hope to see you all in Tampa- please stop by the TrevCo-Varner booth!

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

L'Arlesienne Suite #1 (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Bizet, Georges

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 8604


L'Arlesienne Suite #1
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Georges Bizet (1838-1875)- French composer

Alphonse Daudet's L'Arlesienne, with incidental music by Georges Bizet, received its premiere at the Theatre du Vaudeville, Paris, on October 1st, 1872. The audience's response seems completely incomprehensible today: doors were slammed, spectators came and went, cat-calls were hears, and Bizet's music was lambasted as "Wagnerian cacophony". 
Daudet never wrote another word for the stage. Bizet, however, was not to be dismayed: he turned the incidental music into a suite that became instantly successful and was frequently heard in concert during his lifetime. 
Arranged and edited by Joachim Linckelmann.