Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Peer Gynt Suite #1, op. 46 (score & parts) - WW5

Composer: Grieg, Edvard

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 57986


Peer Gynt Suite #1, op. 46
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Edvard Grieg (1843-1907) - Norwegian composer
I. Morgenstimmung
II. Ase's Death
III. Anitra's Dance
IV. In the Hall of the Mountain King

Ever since the first performance of the Peer Gynt Suite No.1 in 1876, this work has remained one of the most often performed compositions in the romantic repertoire. It was only a matter of time before other ensembles adapted the work and the present arrangement for woodwind quintet of the four-movement suite does justice to the sound world of Grieg, exploring the subtle nuances of these five very individual instruments. The edition also includes a reference score to ease rehearsal of the work. Edited by Joachim Linckelmann.