As we mourn the passing of Eric Varner, owner of TrevCo Varner Music, we want to assure everyone that the business will continue and all orders will be processed and sent out as usual. Emails and phone calls will be returned as quickly as possible.

Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

"Coriolan" Overture (Score & Parts)-WW5

Composer: Beethoven, Ludwig van

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 8601


"Coriolan" Overture
for woodwind quintet: flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, and bassoon
by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)- German composer

Beethoven composed his Coriolan Overture in 1807 after a tragedy of that title by Josef Heinrich von Collin. The Roman general Coriolanus feels humiliated by his native city. Deeply damaged in his self-esteem, he takes up sides with the Volsci, who are threatening Rome. His mother and his former teachers try to win him back to their side. In Collin's play, the resultant struggle between patriotism and pride lasts for five acts until Coriolanus is finally allowed to fall on his sword. Beethoven distills these five acts into some ten minutes of music, depicting the hero's mental disintegration with great sympathy. 
Arranged by Joachim Linckelmann