Click image above to zoom

Click any image above to view larger

Fusion Music - OB/CL/BSN/PN

Composer: Hurnik, Lukas

Publisher: Barenreiter (Germany)

Edition: 57994


Fusion Music
for oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and piano
by Lukas Hurnik (b. 1967) - Czech composer
I. quarter= 108
II. quarter= 69
III. quarter= 108

The chamber piece Fusion Music was written in 1991 after being commissioned by the In modo camerale Ensemble under whose interpretation it enjoyed more than 100 performances all over Europe. In its character it falls among the many works in which classical composers attempt to incorporate elements of jazz into their compositions. Lukas Hurnik looks to rock music, to its ostinatos, sharp guitar harmonies, and baleful rhythmic tampo/ The first movement contains virtuoso, quais-improvised solos, the second combines blues with a chromatic fugue, and the third is a distinctly persistent rondo with references to the previous two movements. Despite the fact that the piece was originally intended for wind instruments (oboe, clarinet and bassoon) and the piano, it has often been performed on other instruments (e.g. flute, violin, cello and the piano or a combination of wind instruments, however, with a C instrument instead of the clarinet). Therefore, the present edition respects this varied scoring and suggests a variety of instrumental combinations.
This edition comes with a piano score, and parts for oboe, clarinet, and bassoon. There is an alternate part in C Major for violin in lieu of clarinet. The oboe part may be performed by flute, and cello may substitute for bassoon. 
Duration: 10:30